Skip to main content
Solved

How to edit the quantity of items on an order

  • Jan 13, 2021 6:58 PM UTC
  • 4 replies
  • 0 views

Hello,

 

From time to time I need to remove an item from an order that will no longer be shipped. I can't seem to figure out how to erase that item so that it does not show up anymore. Please let me know if this is possible and how I can do it.

 

Thank you!

Best answer by jeremy_S-and-S

I believe this would have to be done on your sales channel side of the equation. Make the changes there, and then refresh ShipStation to get the new info.

View original

4 replies

jeremy_S-and-S

I believe this would have to be done on your sales channel side of the equation. Make the changes there, and then refresh ShipStation to get the new info.


eric-siversen

It sounds like maybe you want to remove an item that is out of stock after an order is place? If so with this you can pull up your order and then in the "Shipment" section click to edit the Qty and Items when you are creating the labels. Then you can change the Qty and descriptions , add or delete items. Hope that helps. 


  • Oct 26, 2021 7:56 PM UTC

We deal with the same issue. We have automated emails that tell the customer once we have fulfilled that we have shipped X items. But if an item has been removed (or possibly added?), it skews the number the automated email shows and confuses the customer. For that matter, it confuses staff too when we notice the discrepancy.


  • Feb 10, 2025 12:22 PM UTC

Late to the conversation but found an answer so thought I'd add it for anyone reading this in the future.

After removing an item from an order in Shopify the item would still appear in ShipStation, but with quantity marked as zero.  This made it impossible to create a shipping label for international post.  ShipStation didn't let me edit the items, or change their quantity, so I was stuck.

The solution was to split the shipment in two (in the Orders section of ShipStation > Other Actions > Show Split Ship Actions).  The problem items were moved to another shipment, allowing the remaining items to be posted without problem.  The second shipment can then just be deleted.