cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

A User Interface Discussion

MarkG
New Contributor

I am new to the platform.  I'm posting here because I have repeatedly stumbled over the user interface for ShipStation.   I get that different people approach software design and user interfaces in different ways, but after fighting with it this morning, I was seething. So, I decided to post something and see if anyone cares.

I'll pick one issue to start with: the "import customers" feature.  This works (allegedly) with comma separated value (.csv) files.... except when it doesn't.  And when it does work, it doesn't work well.  I use a Macintosh running MacOS, and I can use Excel or Numbers (the Apple-branded spreadsheet) on my computer, and neither one can produce a .CSV file that ShipStation import will read - I think it doesn't like the way MacOS handles carriage return / line feed characters.  So, I gave up on that - I now have a single file that contains the names of any customers that I want to hand-enter, and I use a very, very simple text editing program to line up the names and count commas to make sure I'm entering things correctly.  This is vital because, as it turns out, there is apparently only one error message:  

"Complete Failure"

I kid you not. That's all it says.

Even when I take great care to get the new record set up correctly, it almost never works the first time because I've messed something tiny up - today, I forgot to put an end of line at the end of the last record I entered.  I fixed that, and it still failed.  Because I had aligned it beneath a known good record, I looked at the new record and wondered if the "user name" field (which is required but entirely meaningless for a manually entered record) may have been too short - and so I changed it to something longer.  Lo and behold, I went from "Complete Failure"  to "Success".   Finally.  Great....