cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

ExceptionMessage":"Object reference not set to an instance of an object" when creating order

stickerNinja
First-timer

Hey there, I am extremely new to using APIs and I'm wondering if someone could provide me hints as to why I'm getting this error. Am I formatting something wrong? I will post my code as well as the error below. Thanks so much for your help!

Code: 

let orderBody={
    "orderNumber":"2507",
"orderDate":"2021-08-24T23:33:59.000Z",
 "orderStatus": "awaiting_shipment",
 "billTo": {
    "name": "The President",
    "company": null,
    "street1": null,
    "street2": null,
    "street3": null,
    "city": null,
    "state": null,
    "postalCode": null,
    "country": null,
    "phone": null,
    "residential": null
  },
"shipTo": {
    "name": "The President",
    "company": "US Govt",
    "street1": "1600 Pennsylvania Ave",
    "street2": "Oval Office",
    "street3": null,
    "city": "Washington",
    "state": "DC",
    "postalCode": "20500",
    "country": "US",
    "phone": "555-555-5555",
    "residential": true
  }
}

let response = await fetch('https://ssapi.shipstation.com/orders/createorder',
     {method: 'POST', 
     headers: {"Content-type": "application/json",
     Authorization:"*my authorization*"},
     body: JSON.stringify(orderBody)}

);
console.log(await response.text());

Error: